About Ikeja

Ikeja is a local government area and also the capital of Lagos state located in the southwest geopolitical zone of Nigeria. Major streets/districts in Ikeja include Maryland, Alausa, Magodo, Gbajobi street, Allen avenue, Adeniyi Jones Avenue, Mobolaji Bank Anthony way, Opebi, Ogba, Ojodu, and Oregun. Ikeja city has a population of about 653,901 inhabitants with Christianity and Islam as the dominant religions within the city. Healthcare facilities found within Ikeja include the New Ikeja hospital, Ikeja medical center, Lagoon hospital, Bolanle specialist hospital Bimax hospital and Maternity, Divine touch hospital, Lasserderm clinics, Deseret international hospital, Brigade Medical Center, and the Unity hospital.

Popular landmarks in Ikeja include the Murtala Mohammed international Airport, the Afrikan Shrine owned by the Late Fela Kuti, Ndubuisi Kanu park, Nigerian Police force Training College, The Place, Redizzo Restaurant and Bar, Ikeja Military Cantonement, Johnson Jakande Tinubu park, and the Ikeja city mall. A large number of Hotels are found in Ikeja and these include the Best WEtern Plus hotel, Hotel Ibis, Jeromes Garden and Suites, Shoregate hotel, Presken hotel and resorts, and the Wtercress hotels,


Ikeja has an average humidity of 92 percent with its average temperature measuring about 25 degrees centigrade. The total area of Ikeja town is 49.92 km squared with the town falling under the Tropical savannah climate.


Ikeja is a very boisterous town with a buoyant economy. There are several hotels, malls, private and public owned institutions in Ikeja. Popular markets in Ikeja include the Oregun mini market, Alausa mini market, Alade market, and the GSM Village

The famous computer village located in the city provides buyers with an almost inexhaustible collection of electronic and communication gadgets while popular shopping hubs such as the Ikeja city mall and the Maryland mall also contribute to trade and the general economic life in Ikeja.


Ikeja became the capital of Lagos state in the year 1976.

© 2023 Manpower Nigeria.  All rights reserved.