About Burutu Local Government Area (L.G.A)

Burutu local government area is located in Delta state, which is in the Southsouth geopolitical zone of Nigeria. The LGA consists of several towns and villages which include Iduwumi, Kolorugbene, Agbodobiri, Okrika, Egodor, Obatebe, Benibayo, and Operemor. The headquarters of the Burutu LGA are in the town of Burutu. Burutu LGA has an estimated population of 128,511 inhabitants with the major ethnic division in the area being the Ijaws. Christianity and traditional religion are both commonly practiced in Burutu LGA while the Ijaw language is extensively spoken in the area. Important festivals held in the area include the Esekelere festival.


Burutu LGA is situated off the Bight of Benin and witnesses two distinct seasons which are the rainy and the dry seasons. The Forcados river runs through the LGA splitting it into two parts. The average temperature of Burutu LGA is 25 degrees centigrade with the area being home to a number of rivers and tributaries. The rainy season in Burutu LGA is often characterized by frequent and torrential rainfall.


Fishing is a key economic activity in Burutu LGA owing to the presence of a number of rivers and tributaries in the area. Also, Burutu LGA has substantially large deposits of crude oil and natural gas and the activities of oil mining companies in and around the LGA contribute immensely to the economy of the area. Crop cultivation and trade are also important economic enterprises in the area.

Review & Rate BURUTU

Writing reviews may help others discover and know more about this place. What do you know about Burutu? Why not drop a review and rating.


Just there
Below Average
Overall Ratings

4 based on 0 reviews


    No reviews yet.

© 2024 Manpower Nigeria.  All rights reserved.