Borno State

About Borno State

Borno State is found in the North East geopolitical region of Nigeria. The State has a total number of 27 Local Government Areas which include Maiduguri, Askira/Uba, Abadam/ Ngala, Bayo, Gubio, Guzamala, Mafa, Chibok, Kaga, Konduga, Damboa, Kukawa, Bama, Gwoza, Magumeri, Jere, Hawul, Marte, Dikwa, Kwaya Kusar, Mobbar, Shani, Monguno, and Nganzai.  Borno state also has seven Emirate Councils namely Dikwa Biu, Borno, Askira, Gwoza, Uba and Shani. Tribes found in Borno state include the Kanuri, Baburbura, Shuwa, Marghi, Fulani, Hausa, Gamergu, Chibok, Ngoshe, Guduf, Mandara, and Tera with the most widely spoken languages in the State being the Kanuri, the Lamang and the Hausa languages. Tertiary institutions found in Borno state include the University of Maiduguri, the Borno state University, College of Education Waka Biu, Kashim Ibrahim College of Education Maiduguri, National Open University of Nigeria, Ramat Polytechnic Maiduguri, and the School of Health technology Maiduguri.

With an estimated population of 4, 151,195 inhabitants, Islam and Christianity are the most widely practiced religions in Borno State. Borno State shares boundaries with Adamawa, Gombe and Yobe States with the City of Maidugiri as the State's Capital. Popular landmarks in Borno state include the University of Maiduguri, a federal government owned tertiary institution and the Maiduguri Sports Stadium which is the home ground of El-kanemi football club, an indigenous professional football club in Nigeria. A number of privately and government owned hospitals are found in Borno state and these include the Kanem hospital and Maternity home Maiduguri, Atal Medical Center Maiduguri, Borno state Medical Center Maiduguri, University of Maiduguri Teaching Hospital, Nakowa specialist Hospital, State specialist hospital Maiduguri, and the Umaru Shehu General Hospital.

In recent times, Borno state which prides itself as the Home of Peace has been hit by a string of violent occurences precipitated by the activities of the Islamic sect Boko Haram which have led to massive loss of lives and property.


The Governor of Borno State is Kashim Shettima.


Home of Peace


MBorno State is characterized by extremely hot dry seasons with an annual average temperature of 29 degrees centigrade. With a total area of 57, 799 km squared, the topography is characterized by large expanse of dry, arid lands.

Rainfall distribution in Borno State is pegged at 1,300 mm per annum and the prevalent climate is the Semi-arid climate.  


Borno State is both an Agrarian and commercial state with substantial crop outputs of rice, beans, millet and groundnut. Cattle rearing is also a very important economic engagement of the city's inhabitants. Trade is also an important economic activity undertaken by the people of Borno state with the state hosting several markets which include the Maiduguri Cattle market, Biu town market, Doron Baga fish market, Gamboru market, Monday market Maiduguri, Disuman cattle market, and the Shuwani livestock market. 

A number of mineral resources such as Clay, salt, potash, limestone, kaolin, sand stone, Iron ore, Uranium, Quartz, magnesite, mica, and granite are found in Borno state.  


Borno State came into existence in 1976 following the breakup of the defunct NorthEastern State. Prior to this, the Borno Emirate had been in existence for several decades with an exclusive list of Shehus and Emirs who have superintended over the economic and Religious affairs of the Emirate with the most recent in this illustrious line being Emir Abubakar Ibn Umar Ganbari El-Kanemi. 

The present Kanemi dynasty seized control of the Borno Emirate in the early parts of the 19th century following the succesful Jihad of Usman Dan Fodio. The Europeans invaded Borno in 1893 before the British colonial Masters officially added Borno to the Northernm Nigeria Protectorate in the year 1902. 

Past governors/administrators of Borno state include

Musa Usman - 1967- 1975

M Buhari - 1975- 1976

Mustapha Amin- 1976-1978

Tunde Idiagbon- 1978-1979

Mohammed Goni - 1979- 1983

Asheik Jarma- october 1983- December 1983

Abubakar Waziri 1984-1985

Abdulmumini Aminu- 1985-1987

Abdul Mohammed- 1987-1989

Mohammed Maina- 1989-1990

Mohammed Buba Marwa - 1990- 1992

Maina Maaji Lawan - 1992-1993

Ibrahim Dada- 1993-1996

Victor Ozodinobi- 1996-1997

Augustine Aniebo- 1997-1998

Lawal Haruna- 1998-1999

Lawal Haruna- 1998-1999

Mala Kachalla - 1999- 2003

Ali Modu Sheriff - 2003-2011

Kashim Shettima- 2011- date

Review & Rate BORNO STATE

Writing reviews may help others discover and know more about this place. What do you know about Borno State? Why not drop a review and rating.


Just there
Below Average
Overall Ratings

4 based on 0 reviews


    No reviews yet.

© 2024 Manpower Nigeria.  All rights reserved.