Ede South

About Ede South Local Government Area (L.G.A)

Ede South local government area is in Osun state, Southwest Nigeria with its headquarters in the town of Ede. Ede South LGA is made up of several towns and villages such as Laogun Araromi, Sekona, Adekolu, Oloki, Alajue, Popoola, and Ededimeji. The population of Ede south LGA is estimated at 89,054 inhabitants with the vast majority of the area’s dwellers being members of the Yoruba ethnic group. The traditional administrator of the area is the Timi of Ede while the commonly spoken language in the LGA is the Yoruba language. Islam, Christianity and traditional religion are all practiced within Ede South while the Egungun festival is one of the numerous festivals celebrated in the area. Notable landmarks in Ede South LGA include the Federal Polytechnic Ede.


Ede South LGA covers a total area of 219 square kilometres with the area witnessing two major seasons which are the dry and the rainy seasons. The average temperature of the area is put at 29 degrees centigrade while the humidity level of the area averages 63 percent. Ede South LGA also has an average wind speed of 11 km/h.


Ede South is majorly an agrarian community with most of the area’s inhabitants being farmers who cultivate a wide variety of crops such as cocoa, oil palm, and cassava. Other important economic enterprises in Ede South LGA include hunting, textile dyeing and trade. The LGA is home to several markets where a wide variety of commodities are bought and sold.

Review & Rate EDE SOUTH

Writing reviews may help others discover and know more about this place. What do you know about Ede South? Why not drop a review and rating.


Just there
Below Average
Overall Ratings

4 based on 0 reviews


    No reviews yet.

© 2024 Manpower Nigeria.  All rights reserved.