About Nasarawa Local Government Area (L.G.A)

Nasarawa local government area is domiciled in Nasarawa state, North-central geopolitical zone of Nigeria and has its headquarters in the town of Nasarawa. Nasarawa LGA is bordered by the Toto LGA and by parts of Benue and FCT. Towns and villages that make up Nasarawa LGA include Loko, Nasarawa, Udege, Ataga, Guto, Tunga, Uke, and Bakono. The estimated population of Nasarawa LGA is put at 188,903 inhabitants with the area mainly populated by members of the Ago ethnic group. The Ago and Hausa languages are commonly spoken in Nasarawa LGA while the religions of Christianity and Islam are practiced in the area. Notable landmarks in Nasarawa LGA include the Federal Polytechnic Nasarawa.


Nasarawa LGA covers a total area of 5,704 square kilometres and has an average temperature of 30 degrees centigrade. The area hosts the Ava hills and has an average humidity level of 32 percent.  Nasarawa LGA witnesses two distinct seasons which are the dry and the rainy seasons with the average wind speed in the LGA put at 10 km/h.


A number of mineral resources are deposited in Nasarawa LGA and these include Cassiterite, Clay, Columbite, and Tantalite. Farming is also an important part of the economy of Nasarawa LGA with crops such as yams, millet, tomatoes, and salads grown in large quantities within the area. Trade also flourishes in Nasarawa LGA with the area hosting several markets where a large number of commodities are bought and sold.


Nasarawa LGA was created in the year 1976.

Review & Rate NASARAWA

Writing reviews may help others discover and know more about this place. What do you know about Nasarawa? Why not drop a review and rating.


Just there
Below Average
Overall Ratings

4 based on 0 reviews


    No reviews yet.

© 2022 Manpower Nigeria.  All rights reserved.